Are rent house prices negotiable?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are rent house prices negotiable?

A couple of friends and I are looking to rent a house pretty soon here in South Austin and I've never done it before. I've definitely negotiated apartment prices and was wondering if houses are the same? We're trying to stay in the $1,200/month range, but most of the houses in the area we're looking are $1,500+ for a 3 Bed, 2 Bath.
    "Any dog under 50lbs is a cat and cats are pointless." - Ron Swanson

It's always worth a shot, but from what I hear the Austin market is really hot right now.

Comment

Rentals are hot right now,probably not. But hey, I've had guys try to negotiate a $20 car part, why not try the rent. I have one rental property. I can assure you I would take a little less knowing I would have someone that is long term and not going to be a pain in my ass...

Comment

Yes house rent prices are negotiable.
        07 GT500
        05 SRT10
        88 turbocoupe T-bird
        93 Cobra
        86 coupe
        Ducati 848

Comment

I had no idea you could negotiate apartment rent

Comment

Everything is negotiable.
            ZOMBIE REAGAN FOR PRESIDENT 2016!!! heh

Comment

I know we negotiated a lower lease payment on our office building when we moved in. A longer term was needed to make it happen, but they did come down quite a bit.

Comment

We offered a $100 monthly discount in trade for a 2 year lease.
                sigpic

Comment

Long term reliability and good past credit/criminal/rental history are what we look for on negotiating terms on our properties. Most are paid for and I'd rather negotiate a couple hundred off say a $1200/month lease for long term than to have the house sit on the market empty making no money. But if you're a risk, te negotiation terms will not be favorable.

Comment

Originally posted by David View Post