income question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• income question

im tired or uncle sam taking all my damn money..would it be better if i claimed one of our kids since i make more than my wife or is it better for her to claim both kids and pray i get some money back at the end of the year??

Originally posted by DOHCTR
    You sir are the poster child for "Go big or go home"!

I may be wrong, but if you're filing as married, does it even matter?

Comment

Originally posted by CWO View Post
      this. You should get a 3500 credit for each.

Comment

not filing married, we file seperately

Originally posted by DOHCTR
        You sir are the poster child for "Go big or go home"!

Comment

Why do you file separately?

Comment

Originally posted by CWO View Post
            Just by the way he presented the question, I am assuming that he and his wife file separately. Not sure why though. I mean, I'm by no means a tax expert, but when we have run various scenarios, filing joint typically works out the best.

Comment

The withholding amount is the same no matter who claims the kid, but it depends on which of you falls in the higher tax bracket at the gross pay point. You should claim them, if it it will get you into a lower tax bracket and not push your wife up into a higher one. Then, your collective level of taxation will be lower. If you already pay someone to prepare your taxes, you should make the switch to a CPA, and take this question to them. It's worth your time.
              ZOMBIE REAGAN FOR PRESIDENT 2016!!! heh

Comment

Originally posted by YALE View Post