Cylinder Head Suggestion...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cylinder Head Suggestion...

Going on my 87 GT, Vortech S-trim, E cam (willing to change though).

Im currently running the stock heads and intake.

Couple of ppl have suggested the 11R 190's but I just don't have $2k to drop on heads right now. All I want to do is get to ~450rwhp, and be happy. So I'm looking for decent HCI pkg, and the rest will be done with a pulley change.

Suggestions for decent, but not top of the line?

Are most heads good right out of the box? I have seen talks of having them checked by a machine shop anyways even though they are new... I've hears ppl say get them bare and put your own valvetrain in, etc.

I'm a cylinder head newb.

Get a set of trickflows.

Comment

Trickflow 170's ~ $1100. Or someone has a set of edelbrock e street heads in the classifieds for $700
      Scott Ganow
      Lone Star Performance
      16300 Midway Rd
      Addison, TX 75001
      214-630-5006

Comment

I got the Trick Flow stage one heads cam and intake and made almost 300 rwhp. Love the look too with TF valve covers.

Comment

Would I be better off doing something like a whole pkg?

Something like this:

Or

Anderson Ford Motorsport is the ultimate source of high-quality Ford Mustang performance and racing parts. We provide parts for classic and modern engines.

Comment

It's up to you. I personally like to piece together components to work with my particular setup. If you still have the stock shortblock, you need to keep intake valve size 1.90, unless its the trickflow, they're designed to use the 2.02 intake valves on stock shortblock.

I would do Holley Systemax, trickflow 170s and a custom cam.
            Scott Ganow
            Lone Star Performance
            16300 Midway Rd
            Addison, TX 75001
            214-630-5006

Comment

Originally posted by 00KBGT View Post