engine cooling issue - bad radiator?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• engine cooling issue - bad radiator?

Although I am a member of this site and have had many sports cars over the years, I never did any of the work or upgrades and know very little about diagnosing car problems. So I am here to ask for some help. I am trying not to take my car to the shop and let them rape me.

That said, here is the problem:

About a week ago I noticed I was driving and all a sudden my a/c started blowing warm air instead of cold. I started playing with all the buttons, turning it off and back on, and eventually after about 10 mins it started blowing cold again. Then later that day, again the next day, etc it did it again. I also noticed when I got out of my car after driving home from work, my radiator fan was still blowing. Never really noticed this before.

So the next day when I drove to work, i was watching my temp guage and it was all over the place. would move around during my drive from just below the 1/2 mark all way up to close to the red. So I pulled over and checked my coolant. Was low, so I stopped at store, got some antifreeze and topped it off.

Seemed to stay below the 1/2 mark for the rest of the drive to work. But when I got out of the car, I could kinda smell the antifreeze smell. But I didnt really see any puddles or anywhere it was leaking. What is weird is, if i start my car with the a/c off. My radiator fans dont seem to come on. As soon as i turn on the a/c, they come on. (although i havent played with this scenario a whole lot).

Long story short, over the past few days I have repeated this same thing. I had a friend of mine who knows about cars take a look and he kinda briefly looked under my hood. We couldnt find any loose hoses or anything that stood out. His theory was the radiator is bad. Thought it sounded like a fan or temp sensor issue, but that doesnt explain the loss of antifreeze daily.