Nonfiction Adventure, gogogogo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nonfiction Adventure, gogogogo

Since Strychnine has failed me, looking for some good books to read. Mountain climbing, surfing, traveling, crazy shit going wrong, whatevs. I've read Born to Run, The Right Stuff, and 127 Hours recently, and I'm looking for things sort of similar, though more endurance recreational based that anyone could walk out their door and do than The Right Stuff. Might be up for some good historical non fiction in the same vein, though I'd probably be interested in the late 1700's onward and American based, such as conquering the West and such. I'm looking for books about specific people though that lived the subjects, not books just about the subjects. Hook it up!

Anything written by or about John Muir.

Comment

Have you read The Big White Lie by Michael Levine?

I'm just getting started on it. Pretty interesting shit! NonFiction History.

Comment

Originally posted by talisman View Post
        Since Strychnine has failed me, looking for some good books to read. Mountain climbing, surfing, traveling, crazy shit going wrong, whatevs. I've read Born to Run, The Right Stuff, and 127 Hours recently, and I'm looking for things sort of similar, though more endurance recreational based that anyone could walk out their door and do than The Right Stuff. Might be up for some good historical non fiction in the same vein, though I'd probably be interested in the late 1700's onward and American based, such as conquering the West and such. I'm looking for books about specific people though that lived the subjects, not books just about the subjects. Hook it up!
        Have you read Into Thin Air? I really enjoyed that one. We MAY actually have a hard copy at the house.

I also have an abridged compilation of the Lewis and Clark journals that I really liked, if you want to borrow (though I know you prefer to buy and keep).

Comment

Touching the void.