No announcement yet.

Outlive my younger days or let it be??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Outlive my younger days or let it be??

So I wanted to poll a larger audience about this. I have the opportunity to try out for a semi pro football team this week if I so choose to. I have not played football competitively for about 12 years now (I'm 32). Football was one of those things that I loved to do and was forced to quit. By that I mean when I graduated H.S. there were no more opportunities for me to play. I still wanted to but had no where to go. I tried a walk-on at Tarleton State but that lasted a semester.

Fast forward to today and where I have this opportunity again. However, the problems that face me now are, 1) I'm self employed and do not have any short term disability insurance to use if I get hurt. and if I don't work there is no money coming in. 2) There is time a commitment involved that would put me away from family and home at least 3 days a week. 3) The cost of travel has the potential to be pretty expensive since the team travels all over the state. 4) This one is probably the biggest one. The wife is not completely on board. She says she is at about a 40/60 split with wanting me to play or not. She wants me to outlive my youth and get it out of my system. But on the other hand it would put a burden on her to have to watch the kids by herself all but about 2-3 days a week.

So what do yall think? What would yall do? Outlive your youth, get it out of your system, and give yourself the opportunity to stop playing the game on your terms. Or come to the reality that there is already a lot on your plate with arguably a lot more risk vs benefit, and just live out your days with the "what if" in the back of your head.

Please discuss.

semi pro sucks, unless they pay it aint worth a shit... what league is it?? i played for about 2 or 3 seasons not too long ago and was not worth it