What are your retirement plans?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are your retirement plans?

We're getting the other thread off track, and I don't really remember this subject ever being brought up. What are your plans? What are you doing to make it happen? I really would like to be on a beach, but it would be tough to leave this region. I've been reducing expenditures and debt for about 2 years now and am contributing heavily to my 401k. Screw working forever. What about you guys?

Just 401K and a personal savings right now. Once I finish paying cash for school after my Masters is done, i'll be contributing more.

Comment

You already know mine. I'm retiring to Belize!

I will be selling my house in April, renting a small 1BR apt and cutting all my expenses down to $1400/m. That way I can put all my other cash away into small rent houses and dividend paying stocks to draw an income on. Once I have $2.5k-3k/month income minimum, I am GONE!!!

My grandparents are in their early to mid 70's and my family lives until 85-92 yrs so it'll be time to head out once that happens. If they stay longer, I stay longer.
      Last edited by sc281; 07-11-2012, 12:14 PM.

Comment

Lottery, and selling my collection of commemorative plates.
        "If I asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses." - Henry Ford

Comment

Mega Millions, then travel the world. I like to keep it simple.

Comment

Originally posted by Baron View Post
            Lottery, and selling my collection of commemorative plates.
            oh I forgot about all the Franklin Mint stuff I have!

Comment

Going to retire on my 60th birthday and live to 100. As far as money goes I'll be set. I'll have my railroad retirement, 401k, manager retirement, mutual funds and plenty of cash socked away. Not to mention my wife's two pensions and her 401k.

Comment