Getting puppy started on raw diet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting puppy started on raw diet

Anyone have any suggestions? I'm looking into putting the newest member of the family onto a raw diet of some sort but haven't ever done this before. I can't exactly go shoot a deer out back and leave it in the backyard for my dog to finish off.

She is a 7 week old Lacy dog....

Eventually I'd like to use her for tracking, heading & retrieving.

Just curious, why a raw diet?
    Get ready for the diarrhea!!

Comment

Originally posted by Xtine View Post
      It helped my dog's digestive system, and his shit was much easier to pick up with the shovel.

I used this guide here and common sense.

Comment

She is a cattle dog.... Plus I'm going to rely on her doing a whole lot of tracking out on the farm.

I've heard raw diets are the way to go with a Lacy dog. It's my first time to own one though.

Suppose to give your dog a really healthy life.

Comment

Originally posted by roliath View Post
          It helped my dog's digestive system, and his shit was much easier to pick up with the shovel.

I used this guide here and common sense.
          http://www.barfworld.com/html/barf_diet/switch.shtml
          What kind of dog do you have?

Comment

negative

My mastiffs did great on raw. I stopped due to the hassle it was for me. I was buying chicken necks from Pilgrims Pride in Dallas for $10/40lbs and would get 120lbs at a time. Also bought whatever was cheap a the grocery store and discount meats to add in. I was feeding my boy mastiff 5.5lbs a day and the girl 3.5-4. Thats a lot of freezer space.

Just give a good mix of raw meats, bones included. With such a young pup, start with something soft like necks or chicken backs. Do not give any other animal bones...they are to hard.

Good luck with your vet...some like it, some think you are crazy.

Comment

Originally posted by papapepper View Post
              What kind of dog do you have?