Truck Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Truck Advice

I'm a project manager for a construction company and they give me $550/mo. truck allowance and pay my fuel. I drive 200+ miles a day. I currently have a 2008 F-150 FX4 with 108k on it and I'm upside down. My question is what is the best way to get out of this truck and in to a cheap diesel while minimizing the hit I'm going to take on my current truck?

TIA

It seems to me that you are always going to be behind at $550 a month unless you just buy a bottom of the line half ton. By the time you factor in a payment and maintenance $550 a month doesn't go very far.

Comment

Yeah I know. I started a year ago and had 45k on it I should have gotten rid of it then... I really need something that I can reliably drive to 300k.

Comment

that's a shitty truck allowance... I used to get $750/mo a few years ago, and after I left, they bumped it to $1000/mo
        http://www.truthcontest.com/entries/...iversal-truth/

Comment

Originally posted by Cooter View Post
          that's a shitty truck allowance... I used to get $750/mo a few years ago, and after I left, they bumped it to $1000/mo
          I agree, especially with the miles that are required to do my job. But... I'm employed and all other things considered its a pretty good job.

Comment

I hear that... I would get a 12v Cummins if they don't have a year limit

Comment

we were in opposite positions, but I had a no frills Ranger that I put the first 100K on, banked the allowance and fuel checks, and then bought my dodge used with the the money (I was getting somewhere around 1250-1500 a month with fuel)
              "If I asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses." - Henry Ford

Comment

show up in a beat up POS Nissan little truck and see how long it takes to get a larger allowance. Unless they are paying you mileage too....pretty crappy deal.