Talk me into / out of a Century CETME

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Talk me into / out of a Century CETME

I've recently thought about picking up a Century built CETME. I have no idea what to look for in a CETME. I really just want a good shooting semi auto .308 . At $540, the CETME is a good fit for a general purpose shooter. Be it paper, critters, or whatever.
    IMG_0424

If you get one I have three mags left over from back when I had one...
    www.allforoneroofing.com

Comment

Originally posted by GAP View Post
      I've recently thought about picking up a Century built CETME. I have no idea what to look for in a CETME. I really just want a good shooting semi auto .308 . At $540, the CETME is a good fit for a general purpose shooter. Be it paper, critters, or whatever.
      I have a lot of experience with CETME's, HK91's, and G3's generally. I've built 3 CETME's from scratch, and I've probably help repair/inspect a dozen of the Century's. I would be very careful buying a Century CETME, you should probably have someone that knows them very well inspect it for you before you buy it. I've gone along many times and had to tell someone not to buy one because of problems. Century just flat out sucks at building HK weapons. HK weapons are some of the most difficult to build, and it's very easy to mess them up. Some of the problems/mistakes Century usually makes are:

1) canted front sight/improperly aligned - (I've seen this 3 times, 4 as of last night.)
      2) no welds on the receiver rails to the trunion (I've seen this 2 times).
      3) cocking tube misaligned (I've seen this 2 times)
      4) Improperly sized receiver (Just about all of them).
      5) Improper head space (Just about all of them), or rigged/ground down bolt (which does nothing, just shows you how inexperienced they were).
      6) misaligned magazine release (half a dozen times).