Update On The 66 Coupe!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Update On The 66 Coupe!

If you remember, back in February I picked up a 66 Coupe for my little brother.

Link to old thread.
    Thought I'd share. Picked up another coupe. Bought this today for my little brother. Nothing special, I6, C4, AC, original color and it was originally sold in the Dallas area. No big plans, just 5lug disc brake conversion, clean it up and make it a nice driver.

Well after 6 months of it sitting on my trailer because he hasn't been out to pick it up, I started playing.

Yanked the motor Tuesday night and dropped the new one in Thursday night. Nothing special, just 6 cylinders of inline FURY!

Then I went out this morning and put it up in the air.

So as of this afternoon, we went from 4 lug drums all around to Granada spindles/discs with dual piston calipers, a narrowed Explorer 8.8 w/ disc brakes and 3.55 gears. It's now back on the ground with a set of late model Mustang wheels.

Here are some pics..

Old motor

Cool Cat Wiggin It!

Engine bay

New motor in. I6 FTW!

What I started with this morning

Mustang, check, thick skin, check, CAR ON JACK STANDS, check. Now I am an official member of DFWMustangs.

My new Craigslist Ad. For Sale - Super RARE K-Code 4 lug drum brakes!

Hover conversion

10.5 FR500s. Time for a mini tub

New front brakes

Granada spindles and rotors. Cobra calipers are just for show. It'll get regular PBRs

Old school Torque Thrusts? Maybe a T/A Series Clone in the future

Narrowed Explorer 8.8. 3.55 gears, 31 spline axles, disc brakes, etc, etc.

And back on the ground. Wheel are "so so" temporary. Needs to be dropped an inch or so.

Comment

Looking good. That's the color I'm going to paint my 66 GT. How much did you narrow the 8.8? It looks like the pinion is still off center? Did you go with the granada spindles, because you couldn't find any v8 spindles? I think I may have some that I might be willing to sell.