Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Seriously!!! What kind of grass/weed is this?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seriously!!! What kind of grass/weed is this?

I have been fighting this stuff for 2 years now and its starting to get out of control. I have put down EVERY single over the counter stuff available at home depot/lowes I can find. Iv used that bayer crabgrass stuff, nutsedge, scotts turf builder with weed, numerous hose sprayer stuff, concentrated stuff... im not joking, almost every single product, I have used and this stuff will NOT die!!

it almost looks like a mini st. augustine grass, but its not. it starts in little clumps and is a light lime green color... some of them even have a little purple in it is seems?

anyway, anything short of tearing entire yard up and starting fresh, how can I get rid of this? I thought of spot treating with roundup or something, but that really wouldnt work as its all over now. It seems like when i fertilize and ironite my lawn, this stuff grows in more instead of my bermuda!!
    Last edited by 00bolt; 06-06-2012, 06:59 AM.

The only thing that will kill it is MSMA, however, it was banned by the EPA. My lawn has a bit of this popping up. I sprayed it with MSMA 2 weeks ago and it brown the rest of the grass, but it came back. Been out there pulling it all by hand lately.

Good luck
    Detailing by Dylan
    817-494-3396
    Meticuloustx7@gmail.com
    Ask about the Pre-Spring special

Comment

i was afraid of that answer. i started to pull but its spread so much it would take forever. im thinking of just putting down some st. augustine sod and letting it take over. this stuff would be virtually invisible in st. augustine.

Comment

WeedolaRatSnake from Texas.
        Photobucket

Comment

You can find msma on criagslist. Aint cheap. Perhaps its still sold in mexico ?

Comment

i bought some cheap grass and weed killer from walmart that seemed to do the trick.
            .....bro....