Must do's in Chicago for weekend get away

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Must do's in Chicago for weekend get away

The wife and I have never stayed in Chicago longer than a lay over between flights. What are a couple must do activities or sight seeing destinations we must see and do in Chicago. We took advantage of a cheap air fare deal, and a free hotel room, and a great rental car deal. We will land in ORD on a Friday mid-morning and leave Sunday morning, the second week of August. It's a quick stay but we squeezed it in SANS kids before they start school. We needed a get away alone, prior to our week at Disney and beaches in FLA in September.

eat at portillos is you have time, and def. eat at giordanos pizza. im no food expert like every other dick on here, but i liked them both.

god bless.
    It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men -Frederick Douglass

Comment

Ever been to Wrigley?

P1's should appreciate that one. LOL

Comment

Check out Navy Pier and the "magnificent mile". And, if you get the chance, punch Rahm Emmanuel right in the mouth.
        "It is in truth not for glory, nor riches, nor honours that we are fighting, but for freedom - for that alone, which no honest man gives up but with life itself."

Comment

So far on our list:

Eat lunch Friday at some Pizzeria and have the infamous Chicago Deep dish

See the Sears tower or whatever it has been renamed

Ride the giant Farris wheel on the pier

Comment

Being a foodie, all my extra curricular activities revolve around food. You have to go to Al's to get a hot Italian beef sammich. Don't be a pussy, either. Load that shit up with hot and sweet peppers. Then do the Philly lean while eating it.
            Al’s #1 Italian Beef has been the sandwich of Chicago for over 80 years, a true food icon, winner of over 150 culinary & critic awards, and has become a destination for people from across the world.

You HAVE to get a Chicago dog from a street vendor.